Location and Territorial Extension:
Bolivia is a municipality located in the central area of South America, between Meridian 57 ° 26´ and 69 ° 38´ length West of the Greenwich Meridian and parallel 9 ° 38´ and 22 ° 53´ latitude South, therefore covers more than 13 ° geographical. The territorial extension is 1, 098,581 square kilometers.

It borders to the North and East Brazil, on the South by Argentina, on the West by Peru, to the East Paraguay, and to the Southwest Chile.

In the Bolivian territory there are considered three main geographical areas:
Andina.-covering 28% of the national territory with an estimated area of 307,000 square kilometers. This area is over 3,000 m.a.s.l., located between the two large Andean branches: the Western and Eastern cordilleras or Real, that have some of the highest peaks of America. Here is the considered highest Lake in the world, Lake Titicaca, located at 3,810 m above the sea level, with an area of 8,100 km2, which places it in the twenty-fourth in the world, Bolivia you are 3.690 km2 and the rest to the Peru by where sailing boats of great depth, has also islands such as the island of the Sunthe Moon, Koati, and others.
Andine.-intermediate Region between the altiplano and the Eastern Plains covers 13 per cent of the territory, which comprises the valleys and yungas (at average altitude of 2,500 metres). It is characterized by its agriculture and its temperate climate to warm (15 to 25 ° C).
Plains-covers 59% of the national surface and is located to the North of the eastern cordillera Real that extends from the foot of the Andes towards the Paraguay River, is a land of plains and low plateaus, covered by extensive forests rich in flora and fauna. Registers an average annual temperature of 22 to 25 ° C.

The cordillera de Los Andes to enter in Bolivian territory branches in various sectors. From the North, the knot of Vilcanota or Apolobamba is Real and Western or Central or volcanic cordilleras.
The cordillera Occidental is divided into three sections: Lacustre or Northern, Central and southern or volcanic.
The cordillera Real is divided into six districts: Apolobamba, dolls, Real or La Paz, Tres Cruces, Santa Vera Cruz and Cochabamba. The cordillera Central is born in the cordillera Real Northeast - Southeast and consists of three cords: Northern or mountain range of Azanaques, Central or cordillera de Los Frailes and the South, which includes the mountain ranges of Chichas and Lípez.

MAIN mountains over A 6,000 m.a.s.l.

Sajama, Illampu, Illimani, Hanko Uma, Chiaraco, Pomerape, Chachacoman, Parinacota, Huayna Potosi, Chaupi Orkho, Acotango, Uturuncu.
Bolivia has three systems:
Basin in the North of the Amazon.-of East to West consists, mainly, by the River Madre de Dios, Orthon, Abuna, Beni, Yata, Mamoré and Itenez or Guaporé.
Central basin or Lacustre-formed by Lake Titicaca and lake Poopó and the Desaguadero River and large salt lakes such as Coipasa, Uyuni.
Cuenca del Sur or La Plata.-composite mainly by the Paraguay, Pilcomayo and Bermejo rivers.


Titicaca, Poopó Huaytunas Rogagua, Rogaguado, Uru Uru.

Coipasa, Uyuni.

Although all of the Bolivian territory is located in the Tropic of Capricorn, this has a variety of climates. If there are only scarce elevation plains in its topography, the climate would tend to be uniform; However, in Bolivia room temperature not only by latitude but also because of the altitude on the level of the sea, i.e. at a higher altitude the temperature is kept low and this rises to lower altitudes. From the level of the sea and as this is the temperature of the air low 0.55 ° C for every 100 meters of altitude. Thus, in the region dominated by the cordillera Real, or Eastern and Western or volcanic to the West of Bolivia, the climate is regulated by the height. This explains that there are summits with eternal snow and polar Cold and that, on the same latitude, extend plains with calido-tropical climate.

For more information and prices contact us at